Writing 101: To Whom it May Concern

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there. 

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

Dearest love of my former life,

Shivering; I walked beside you with cold ice cream chilling my mouth while you at my side warmed my heart and we made plans for our first date.

Shivering; in the front seat of your car after that first date, with your hand in mine and your face drawing near as we reveled in our first kiss (and our second).

Shivering; as you lay beside me patiently, waiting for my permission to take our relationship to a new (physical) level.

Shivering; as you pledged your love to me again and again through gestures and gifts, not the least of which was that small object you treasured most in those days.  (Even now I marvel at the fact that I was the only one who wore it.)

Shivering; as I think of that night that I looked for you and you were gone and when I came home I found your cold written words and the even colder cruelty your hands had caused.

Shivering;  I pull a scrap of paper from a box.  The paper contains the words that would have been the beginning of our reconciliation.  These words still have the power to cast a shadow in my heart.

Shivering; I return the decades old piece of notebook paper to the box of memories I can’t erase and remember the finality of those words you spoke to me when I decided it was time for us to part ways:  “Have a nice life”

Shivering; I think that I have done so, but I’ve never been able to get away from you completely.  Although our paths never met again directly, we travel parallel lines and I catch glimpses of you and wonder if life would have been a little bit nicer if you had remained in it.

My word was “shivering” from page 29 of A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin.

Leave a Reply

